Join us on March 30th to shine light on the third most prevalent disease in the world, migraine disease. This one-day event will begin with two simultaneous symposiums led by more than 25 experts and advocates in migraine, covering various hot topics. The excitement continues with a networking and awards dinner following the symposium.

To purchase tickets for the dinner only you may choose either registration button below.

When & Where:


March 30, 2019

Brown University

Providence, RI 02903

The Migraine Symposium – Medical Program

A review of its pathophysiology, diagnosis, treatment and unanswered questions


  • Michael Teixido, MD – Neurotologist, ENT & Allergy of Delaware
  • Brian McGeeney, MD – Associate Professor of Neurology, Boston University School of Medicine
  • 1:10 -1:20 pm – Panel Discussion/ Q&A
  • 1:20 – 1:30 pm – Break

A discussion of menstrual migraine, pregnancy, breastfeeding, contraception, hormonal replacement therapy and direction for research.


  • Julie Roth, MD – Neurologist, Neurology Foundation, Brown
  • Janet Waters, MD – Women’s Neurology, University of Pittsburgh
  • Amy Hessler, DO – Assistant Professor of Neurology
  • Mary Angela O’Neal, MD – Chief of Women’s Neurology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Renee Eger, MD – Medical Director, Obstetrics and Gynecology Care Center, Women and Infants Hospital
  • Marcie Richardson, MD – Director, Menopause Service, Atrius Health
  • 3:00 – 3:25 pm – Panel discussion/ Q&A
  • 3:25 – 3:35pm – Break

What is the evidence that this is a neurological phenomenon, not necessarily a bacterial or inflammatory disease? Current recommendations for diagnosing and treating this condition. How can we better prove this? What are the implications for public policy?


  • Mark Mehle, MD – Otolaryngologist, Southwest General Medical Group
  • Alejandro Vazquez, MD – Rhinologist, ENT & Allergy
  • Boris Paskhover, MD – Facial Plastics & Reconstructive Surgery
  • Gaurev Jindal, MD – Radiology, Miriam Hospital
  • David Jang, MD – Rhinologist, Duke University
  • Francine Touzard-Romo, MD – Infectious Disease, The Miriam and Newport Hospitals
  • 5:20-5:45 pm – Panel disussion/ Q&A

The Migraine Symposium – Community Program


  • Richard Kraig, MD – Co-founder/CSO of Seurat Therapeutics, Inc.
  • Blake Gurfein, PhD – Engineer, VP Research & Scientific Affairs, Tivic Health
  • Jason Cook, MD – Founder/CEO of Relaspen
  • Shivang Joshi, MD, MPH, RPh – Neurologist, Dent Neurologic institute

CGRP blockers


  • Norman Gordon, MD – chief of neurology, Miriam Hospital
  • Shoshona Lipson-de Marigny – support group on Facebook



  • Ashley Hattle – author of Cluster Headaches: A Guide to Surviving One of the Most Painful Conditions Known to Man
  • Bob Wold – President of ClusterBusters

Medical Marijuana


  • Todd Handel, MD – Interventional Physiatrist, Pain Management
  • Jodie Epstein – founder of

Acupuncture for migraine


  • Mariah Stump, MD – Clinical Assistant Professor, Women’s Medicine Cooperative

3:40 – 4:00 pm – Panel Discussion/ Q&A


  • Diane Lipscombe, PhD – Professor of Neurology, Carney Institute For Brain Science, Director
  • Christopher Gottschalk, MD – Director, Department of Neurology, Yale University
  • Yiheng Tu, PhD – Research Fellow, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • 5:00 – 5:15 pm Panel Discussion/ Q&A

Migraine Awards Dinner

Sayles Hall, Brown University, The College Green, accessed via archway at 75 Waterman St, Providence, RI

This event will bring together members of the migraine community, medical professionals, students and business leaders. Guests will have the opportunity to network and speak with symposium panelists. The Association of Migraine Disorders will also honor award winners in three different areas.

Cocktails Begin at 6:00 pm
Dinner Begins at 7:00 pm

Migraine Awards Winners

Innovation Award Winners:

From The Carney Institute for Brain Science: Diane Lipscombe, PhD, Chris Moore, PhD, Carl Saab, PhD, Julie Kauer, PhD

Impact Award Winner:

Cathy Glaser

Advocacy Award Winners:

  • Ashley S Hattle
  • Danielle Fancher
  • Jodie Epstein

The Community Symposium and Awards Dinner Funded in part by